Yosen SX 50W Mod Review

Yosen SX 50w Review

The Yosen SX 50W mod is a variable wattage APV featuring an authentic Yihi chip board with G-Sensor, and is branded for trade by Guangzhou Yosen Technology. While the Yosen SX 50W mode is clearly a take on the Zero SX 350 by Carlos Creation, the Yosen SX is not a 1:1 clone. While here are basic design elements that are directly copied from the Zero SX 350, there also a few aspects of this device that are different and unique unto the Yosen SX.

SX Zero vs Yosen SX

The Yosen SX 50W featured in this review came directly from Yosen Technology and was provided for the purpose of this product review. The Yosen SX is packaged in a branded black hard cover gift box with a magnetic flap. The Yosen SX retails for $97.99 – $124.95USD at various online retailers.

Where to Buy a Yosen SX 50w Mod:

Yosen SX collage 1

YOSEN SX 50W SPECIFICATIONS:

  • Brand: Yosen Technology ( SX 300 chip made by Yihiecigar)
  • Material: 304 grade stainless steel and marbled resin
  • Connection threading: 510 ( copper reverse threaded contact pin)
  • Battery compatibility: 18650 only
  • Height: 82.5mm
  • Width: 25mm
  • Diameter: 24.5mm
  • Weight: 148 grams (without battery)

Features:

  • Authentic Yihi SX 300C Chip
  • Gravity sensor
  • 7.0-50.0W in 0.1W increments
  • Voltage output 3.7-11.0 volts
  • Atomizer resistance .2 – 3.00ohms
  • Pass-Though Capability
  • Screen size: 0.66″ OLED
  • Power Lock feature
  • Chip is not upgradeable

BUILD QUALITY

One of the first things that I noticed about the Yosen SX is that the machining and finish of the stainless frame is leaps and bounds better than the Yosen DNA Zero. There are no minor blemishes, pits, or scratches on the stainless steel frame, and the edges of the frame are also not as sharp as the DNA Zero was. The device itself is about 100 grams lighter than the DNA Zero as well, which initially threw me off a bit since I am used the heftier weight of the DNA Zero.

The marbled resin body itself is very hard, and solid in spite of its lightweight feel. I find the marbled pattern on the blue version that I received to be attractive, and the texture of it is very smooth and it has some reflective qualities. My only slight for the acrylic body is that it doesn’t completely fill all four corners of the stainless steel frame. At each corner there is small 2mm space between the resin body and frame however, this has been addressed and corrected on the recent batches of the Yosen SX which can be seen in the first photo in this review.

Aside from the use of marbled resin vs stabilized wood, the Yosen SX differs from the SX 350 Zero by Carlos Pang in a few ways. The stainless frame of the Yosex SX is secured to the resin body by 4 hex screws with 2 on the top, and 2 on the bottom, while the SX 350 by Carlos Pang only uses 1 hex screw on top and bottom. The Yosen SX has a OLED display that is flush mounted to the stainless frame, and has an attractive black frame that gives a sort of flat screen TV appearance. The SX 350 by Carlos Pang has a countersunk display window in which the OLED display is recessed.

The Yosen SX also has a cursive “Y” engraved on the fire button, and a Yosen SX logo is laser engraved on the lower body of the frame. The black framed OLED display and the engraved fire button are two aesthetic touches that I prefer about the Yosen SX, even as the stabilized wood construction of the SX 350 is superior to a marbled resin body.

Yosen SX collage 2

The one question that I have been frequently asked with regard to the Yosen SX is “how are the 510 threads?”. The 510 connection is properly machined, and all of the threaded pieces of this device are clean and precisely machined. The 510 connection itself is a removable stainless steel hybrid style connector with Yosen SX, Yosen Creations laser etched on the surface.

When the 510 hybrid connector is removed you can see the copper reversed threaded fire pin beneath it. The hybrid connector also has two slots on either side of the 510 threading to aid removal of the hybrid connector.

Yosen SX collage 3

On the bottom of the device is there is a removable gold plated battery cap with a brass negative contact screw at the center. The battery cap is removed in the same way as the 510 hybrid connector, and you can use a mini screwdriver for removal. The battery slot is milled into the otherwise solid acrylic body, and it houses a single 18650 battery.

The battery should be installed with the positive end towards the 510 connection. Once the battery cap is installed simply tighten the negative contact until there is a flash of the display screen which signifies that the battery has made contact. The negative contact only needs to be adjusted once during first time use. There is no need to unscrew the negative contact in order to remove the battery cap.

Yosen SX collage 4

Please note that this device is packaged with a protective film over on the OLED display screen which I failed to remove while photographing the Yosen SX for this review. *insert facepalm*

As I mentioned earlier, the quality of machining on the Yosen SX is improved over the DNA Zero. If you look closely at the comparison pictures below you can clearly see if difference in finish quality between the Yosen SX 50W, and the DNA Zero 30W, specifically on the stainless steel frame. Quite honestly the machining flaws of the DNA Zero didn’t become apparent until I received the Yosen SX, and it was then immediately noticeable.

The Yosen SX is the same height, width, and diameter as the DNA Zero however, it is 100 grams lighter in weight and has a non-removable acrylic body. The other difference is of course the Yihi SX300 chip with G-Sensor technology, and a one button menu interface.

Yosen SX collage 5

FUNCTION

The Yosen SX features an authentic SX 300C made by Yihi, the same electronic manufacturer responsible for the SX 350, and SX 350 mini chip found in the Yihi SXmini 60W APV. There are a few differences between the Yihi SX 300C and SX 350 chip. The Yihi SX 300C is a 7-50W chip and it is not upgradeable like the SX 350W, which is the main difference between the two chips. Also, the efficiency of the SX 300C chip is 92% and it is not as pin point accurate as the SX 350 chip. This is to be expected since the SX 350 is premier, high end modders chip, while the SX 300C is intended for mass-produced, mid-range devices.

Those who have never used a device with G-sensor technology tend to be put off from it however, in reality the G-sensor is a breeze to use and I have grown to even prefer it over the up/down button wattage navigation of DNA style devices. You do not need to wave, or shake the G-sensor to use it, you simply tilt the device to navigate up or down.

The Yosen SX with Yihi SX 300 chip has the following menu interface functions:

  • – 5x click of the fire button to power on after a battery is installed
  • – 3x click of the fire button to lock/unlock power
  • – 5x clicks to change wattage up or down from 7-50W (after device is powered on)
  • – From wattage menu 1x click to Exit menu, and tilt right or left
  • – 7x clicks to System off, and tilt right or left to power off the device

The Yihi SX 300C chip fires from .2-3.00ohm, and has a 3.7-11.00v output according to specs. This chip does have flash memory so your last wattage setting will be remembered after battery changes. This chip does have one interesting quirk, which is the fact that the display screen reads approximately .4-.8 over the actual battery charge level. This has absolutely no effect on the chips performance/output, but it is something to be mindful of as you are checking your battery charge level.

The SX 300C also has pass-through capabilities so that you can continue to vape while you are recharging your battery via USB. The Yosen SX does not come with a USB charging cable, nor does it have a user a manual.

Yosen SX collage 6

PERFORMANCE

For the most part I have enjoyed using this chip even as the SX 300C chip has a lower efficiency rate than the Yihi SX 350 chip. The SX 300C chip technically does not step down however, as I tested this chip I noticed that it does have some ability to fire below the actual battery level. I used a freshly charged LG HE2 battery with a 1.1 ohm, and .6 ohm atomizer to test its voltage output.

At 1.1 ohms the SX 300C chip was able to fire as low as 3.84v when set to 10W for an actual output of 13.4W. At 1.1 ohms this chip is most accurate between 14-50W in terms of actual voltage output. At .6 ohms this chip was able to fire as low as 3.64v when set to 10W for an actual output of 22.08W. At .6 ohms this chip is most accurate between 25-50W.

So again, while the chip is not as accurate as the SX 350 chip, and there are some limitations within its firing range, in reality this chip is more than acceptable for how the average person vapes between 5.-1.5 ohms. I usually vape between .5 and 1.2 ohms at 12.5-25W, and I was more than satisfied with how this chip performs throughout my vaping range. The deal breaker here would be for anyone who NEEDS buck/boost conversion.

Yosen SX collage 7

OVERALL

I was actually surprised by how much I like the Yosen SX 50W, even as marbled resin/acrylic was initially a questionable material choice for me. I have grown fond of its lightweight feel in hand, and its size and weight certainly makes it more pocket friendly than the DNA Zero Modz clone. The Yosen SX is in fact smaller than couple of the “mini’s” on the market at the moment.

There is also the Yihi SX 300C chip, which is not perfect but, it is a heck of a lot better than most cloned DNA style chip out on the market. I have several friends who own the Yihi SXmini and a device housing the SX 300C chip, and they all agree that this chip has the vape quality of a Yihi chip. The one button, G-sensor menu interface is a plus in my book, as there aren’t any wattage buttons to accidentally hit and change your wattage setting. I also find this fire switch to be a very nice one as it has that light, and subtle clicky feel that I prefer.

There are those for whom the resin/acrylic body will not appeal to however, overall I find it to be a nice device that definitely stands out amongst the sea of high wattage box mods currently on the market. From the perspective of overall build quality and performance, and on the strength of the Yihi chip, the DNA Zero clone is very much inferior by comparison to this device. However, this is only my opinion.

Yosen SX final photo

Pros:Cons:

  • Yihi Chip

  • Build quality

  • Removable 18650 battery

  • G-Sensor/ease of menu navigation

  • Size/form factor

  • Fire button


  • Resin body doesn’t meet the very corner of the frame

  • Battery charge level reads slightly over

Where to Buy a Yosen SX 50w Mod

<p>Nicole Lea is a committed vape gear enthusiast of 3 years, who is dedicated to informing, educating, and guiding the vape community in this amazing world of electronic cigarettes.</p>

22 COMMENTS
  • PaulyB 02/16/2015

    I Am pretty sure that at that price point, no buck boost would pretty much kill it for people who have that kind of money to spend on a mod. i am not sure why you are not listing it as a negative. Especially when there are other devices out there that do properly buck boost and are cheaper to equal price. It is a pretty device for sure but I think they are riding their looks more than their function. Especially given the wacky voltages you are showing That 10w screenshot you show is just begging to blow coils

  • sageleeone 02/16/2015

    Excellent review, thanks Nicole!

  • Paul (Nailz) 02/17/2015

    Damn that blue looks sexy as hell in your pics, I still get tempted by the blue resin zero, but already having 2 zero’s and so many new mods coming out, I just don’t pull the trigger on one, also with all different swirls in the design, I see it a gamble you will get one where you like the design. If they ever come down in price, then sure I will snatch one up though πŸ™‚

    Awesome review, thank you πŸ™‚

  • VH fan 02/17/2015

    Great review as usual Nicole , i think we should let Pauly B live for now though.

    Yeah i know , i know , any difference of opinion of a Nicole review results in death (and deservingly so i might add) but i think he’s new and may not know the consequences of a slightly differing opinion.

    Now if there are any outburst of hostility in the future by Mr. Pauly B, immediate action will be taken commencing with a severe and relentless beating about the head and face area and often progressing into an excruciatingly painful death (and thats if your lucky ) .

    I just don’t see anyway around that. Anyways i hope your doing well my friend and i will be looking forward to your future reviews.

  • LJF 02/17/2015

    Hi Nicole,

    Thanks for another in depth reveiw. I think for the look and preformance based on your review it really is not bad at roughly $100 considering what’s out there at that price point. Not really a fan of resin mods and think that it would look so much better in wood! There are so many new mods coming into the market now a days. It reminds me of the computer wars not so long ago where there was a new computer out every other day.

    Keep up the great work and thanks again for another great review!

  • VH fan 02/17/2015

    If my post’s make you ask yourself “oh my God is this guy serious” while you crack a smile at the same time then it is exactly the way i expected them to be taken.

    Pow pow for me ? As far as myself being beaten relentlessly about the head and face area , yeah, sure why not . I’ll add that to my “to do list” .

  • PaulyB 02/17/2015

    VH you crack me up every one of your posts You are some ass-kissing little butt monkey and now you want to try to throw physical threats at me… yeah right

    Now never once did I bad mouth Nicole or Nathan and their wonderful work. I simply disagree with the blatant lack of negatives on this device. But having done review work myself in my past I understand manufacturer pressure to give positive reviews.
    The Yihi SX chip is awesome, I now own three devices with various Yihi chip models, but if you would stop and look you would make note of some key issues with the device and I only say these from the review verbiage, not experience.
    The voltage control is lacking, it’s only 50w and it carries a premium price tag.
    Like far too many devices it is trying to market form over function.
    It could only be one negative but if it’s a big enough negative like voltage control, which is 90% of these devices required features, then the price tag compared to the negative has to be pointed out. But the market will show just how popular the device is given Price and function and I think it’s incorrect of myself or anyone to say that the market is going to love this device, or hate it for that matter, because it’s not even out yet or it’s in limited availability.
    Just because one device was popular and was kinda like this one has absolutely no bearing on whether this will be or not.
    the original device that looks like this was only mildly popular and the biggest shortcoming was because,,, stop and think for a second,,Yep you got it the price tag, availability of the actual device and not clones was another.

    And Nicole, yes not firing below 3.6v is NOT a negative, hell my actual Hana DNA30 won’t regulate below 4v… It is 100% regulated.
    You could have said carries a premium price tag for a 50w unregulated device.

    but since it doesn’t use buck boost that means, and please correct me, that it is using, possibly a form of PWM. this also shows, to me, in the voltage readings as a few of them are not very well regulated. Which again demands a lower price tag.
    Could this be fixed in firmware, maybe but I can’t say if it’s field upgradable.

    Or the buck/boost it uses simply stops at 3.6v ?..
    Which is ok as we usually don’t want to drop batteries below that, but your battery isn’t putting out 3.6 the device is.

    I never expected DNA level regulation but at the price point it is, and ONLY 50w one would naturally expect better. So the lack of function is being overlooked by its appearance and it is a great looking device I really like it

    Nicole, any chance of showing some more pics of the voltage ranges on either a single ohm level or various levels. This would give, supposed jerks like me, a better understanding of the device.

    Also inline volt/ohm readers like that give horrible PWM readings so if it is drifting between PWM and DC like the SX Mini does it will read all over the place.
    A DMM with alligator clips On the posts of an RDA will give better readings if it can read PWM properly. Or if the device uses average PWM for an output.

    Overall, another good review, I just hate to see reviews where the lack of obvious negatives are obviously omitted.

    It’s all good, you gave enough info for me and others to buy or not buy it which is the function of any review

  • Brian 02/18/2015

    Another great Review. I love your in depth and detailed analysis. Very thorough and well presented. Your experience and knowledge is much appreciated. I read every review and look forward to more in the future.

  • Mastervapin 03/10/2015

    Awesome review Nicole!! I just purchased this device based on your review and the few others that I could find on the interwebs. (Mainly your review) =) The price just dropped to $75 at Angelcigs and Focalecig! I hope the “less knowledgeable” will appreciate the new price for these! A $25+ price drop is pretty decent for mods today. Hoo-ray for using technology that we’ve had for years, placing it in new devices, and driving the predecessor devices down to “affordable” prices.

    “It ain’t easy buying cheaply”

  • danilo 04/20/2015

    Grat review, really! I red here and there some people complaining about an inconsistent power otuput along the discharge cycle of the battery, did you notice that ? Also how’s the battery duration with this mod ? Thanks

      • danilo 04/20/2015

        yeah this is a good point, I’ll do more accurate research, and if I’ll finally get it I’ll post my impressions here for your readers. Thank you again

POST A COMMENT

Get Fast access to the latest deals

x
x